SNE: Preview

SNE: Preview


I'm having such a hard time figuring out how to introduce this post. So, instead of agonizing over the wording, let me just put it out there. Today, I want to share some of the spreads from my new cookbook with you. I'm excited about it, and I can hardly wait for March/April, when I'll have a real paper copy in my hands. The PDFs are nice, but having a book to hold in your hands, after years of thinking about it - there are few things like it. I'll include some images in this post, but for those of you who want to jump straight to a dedicated preview site, here you go. I'll add to it in the coming weeks. You can also pre-order the book here.

I apologize for letting six months pass since the last proper update on this front. I'm not entirely sure how that happened, but wow, a lot has come together since then. I'll get to some of that in a minute. Allow me to back up a bit for any new readers, or for those of you who just want a recap. I've been writing a series of posts related to the creation of this new cookbook, Super Natural Every Day. The first post was nearly a year ago. Followed by one related to the manuscript, and then another about choosing a cover. Some of you who have been watching the book evolve likely noticed the cover in the last post isn't the cover you see here. That's a long story. In short: While I loved the moody darkness and pinks in the original cover, in the end, i.e. the very last minute, we went for something a bit brighter, livelier. Another factor, a surprising number of you thought the pink potatoes on the original cover were ham chunks. Wish I was kidding.

Super Natural Every Day Spreads

The book is the same trim size as Super Natural Cooking, but the new book has more pages. Said another way, it's thicker. I wrote all the recipes in cups / ounces / grams this time around. And there are lots of photo spreads throughout, both splits and full-pagers. I took most of the photos for the book, although two or three of my very favorite shots came from Wayne. There is one shot in particular - we were walking along a coastal trail in Point Reyes one morning, when two deer popped their heads up above the tall grass, just across the meadow. Wayne got the shot, I completely over-exposed the shot.

Super Natural Every Day Spreads

For the most part I wrote and photographed the book in real time. Often, cookbook manuscripts are written, then an intensive shoot is scheduled toward the end of production, once the text has been finalized. I work a bit differently - writing and shooting in tandem. What you see in the book is what I cooked for breakfast, lunch, or dinner that day. I like working this way, it's relaxed, not much fuss, and I can shoot the food when it looks the most appetizing and alive, in the seconds after it comes off the stove or out of the oven.

Super Natural Every Day Spreads

The book structure moves through the day with recipes divided into chapters starting with Breakfast, Lunch, Snacks, Dinner, Drinks, and then Treats. You can see how the breakfast chapter opening pages look just above. If you're interested, I'd be happy to post a complete recipe list in the coming weeks. I'd better check with Ten Speed, but I can't imagine it'd be a problem.

Super Natural Every Day Spreads

More than anything, I wanted this cookbook to feel like it was from a place - northern California, where I've lived most of my life. And I wanted the recipes to be approachable, and a reflection of the food I cook every day. My hope is that you can take some of these ideas, get a bit of inspiration from them, and make them your own in your own kitchen. Can't wait to share the real thing with you all. And before I log off, I know a lot of you are looking for new year recipe ideas - I've compiled a number of favorite one-pan recipes in one place, and have a new recipe to share on Tuesday. -h

Related links:
- Super Natural Every Day - preview site
- Super Natural Every Day - pre-order

 
 
 
 
For new recipes & inspirations

Your Comments


Melissa
January 6, 2011

It's like Christmas all over again. I have your first book and am really excited about the looks of this one and love that there are going to be so many photos.

Congrats again on another labour of love and work or art.

 

g.
January 6, 2011

wow, wow, wow. as a girl who has made northern california her home, i simply can not wait. stunningly wonderful, heidi! happy near year to you! xo.

 

lisa
January 6, 2011

Heidi,
If I could pick my dream career, it would be food writer - you've got it all sewn up - cook, writer AND photographer, a real creative dream come true! I love your website and altho I don't always cook "super naturally" I've used a lot of your recipes. I look forward to your new book. Good luck, and nice work!

 

chika
January 6, 2011

heidi, i'm so excited i don't know how i can put it into words!! i've been enjoying the updates and preview, and i suppose the complete list of recipes would be helpful for people to try and get a better idea of the book, although i'd probably keep away from that part, for i'd rather have the real book in my hands and find everything from it as i flip through... looking forward to april!

 

I love the book so far. The pictures are amazing, the layout readable, and the recipes are bound to be great.

 

Linsey
January 6, 2011

Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! Can't decide if the pictures or food will be my favorite--I'll go with both. Congratulations on another amazing labor of love--and on making dreams a reality. You're an inspiration! Now I'm off to cook yours and Wayne's favorite califlower.

PS--can you come do a book signing in Seattle? Puleeze!???

 

Jessica
January 6, 2011

Wow- I love the layout and the colors! They really remind me of the Bay Area- makes me homesick (a native)!

Congrats on your masterpiece!

 

Monica
January 6, 2011

I can't wait!!! It looks gorgeous! I much prefer the new cover, by the way. And I vote for a recipe list, just to give me something to drool over until the book gets here. I think it's silly that you even have to check with them - it's YOUR book!

 

It looks simply stunning! Gorgeous photography, lovely tones. I love that it was created in real time too. It makes it more special, authentic. I really cannot wait to get my own copy :) Congratulations!!
Heidi xo

 

Mo
January 6, 2011

I am so excited for this book! SNC is one of my favorite cookbooks and I always love turning to it for inspiration.

I've moved to San Francisco this past year and it's been a lot of fun finding ingredients and suppliers (bulk mesquite flour at Rainbow, Rancho Gordo beans at the Ferry Plaza market) that I'd read about on the blog. Little details like those have made this city feel more familiar to me, which has been nice after such a life-altering move. Sorry for the digression, but I wanted to say thanks! Can't wait to see what's waiting for us in the new cookbook.

 

The Artist Chef
January 6, 2011

Every cook or chef wants their own book. I am happy about your new one. The landscape of your photography matches the food landscape you are showing. Diverse and picturesque. More food for 2011 Heidi and Congrats!

 

Ivana
January 7, 2011

I'm sure your book will be amazing!!
I'm going to preorder!
happy year!

 

KateP
January 7, 2011

Heidi, I, like everybody else, can't wait to see your new book - it is so exciting and thank you for including us in the process from that first post early last year until now.....congratulations!

 

Julie Anne Rhodes
January 7, 2011

You have won me over to the light side madame - I'm so enjoying your recipes from the first book, I'll definitely be working my way through the second as well!

 

Aku
January 7, 2011

Heidi, The book looks absolutely beautiful. You must be so proud of such a wonderful achievement. Can't wait to see it in print :)

 

Sabrina Modelle
January 7, 2011

Heidi, thank you so much for sharing pages from your upcoming book. I love your first book and use it often. As a blogger aspiring cookbook author, I really appreciate the insight into the way you work. I am so happy at your ongoing success.
-Sabrina (The Tomato Tart)

 

oana
January 7, 2011

Heidi you are a true inspiration. Thank you for continuing to do this and for being such a wonderful example. So excited to see the final version! :)

 

Emm
January 7, 2011

I'm stuck for words also. Your new book looks like everything I had imagined it would be, and some. I can barely wait for April/march too! Well done Heidi. Xx

 

Gemma
January 7, 2011

beautiful, I can't wait to see it and cook from it

 

Katrina
January 7, 2011

I'm so excited for your new book to come out!! I want to be the first one to pick it up!

 

Simply Life
January 7, 2011

Everything looks and sounds great!

 

shari
January 7, 2011

heidi, it all looks so wonderful.

 

Catherine
January 7, 2011

Dear Heidi,

it looks beautiful. I love your take on food and being a vegetarian I adore your versatility with all things vegetable.
Did you ever think about having it translated? I know, people speak English, but it's the older folk who often need inspiration when it comes to natural cooking and creative use of ingredients and they are often just not that fluid in English.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to it,
take care,
C.

 

serena
January 7, 2011

oh yes full recipe list please!
your book looks so inviting :)

 

Lauren
January 7, 2011

I couldn't be more excited for this cookbook, Heidi! I'm pre-ordering a copy today. The binding of my copy of Supernatural Cooking is breaking from all of the use I've gotten out of it - it is currently displayed in my cookbook holder, open to the gorgeous fuchsia "use natural sweeteners" page. I love that book, and am sure that your new cookbook will be loved just as much :).

 

keiko
January 7, 2011

It looks breathtaking Heidi - I've preordered the book and can't wait to get my hands on it, it's only a few months away!

 

Johanna
January 7, 2011

Beautiful pages! I'm excited to see one in person.

 

Caroline
January 7, 2011

Can't wait for it to come out! I know it's going to be fabulous!

 

Cathy B. @ Bright Bakes
January 7, 2011

Stunning...but then, i expected no less. Am waiting eagerly....And as much as I adore the recipes...gotta admit I'm in it for those lovely photos almost as much!
Cheers!
cathy b. @ brightbakes

 

Sarah B.B.
January 7, 2011

Lovely. Your photos and your tone and the atmosphere of the whole thing just seem so very lovely. I am so excited to see the finished book.

 

I would LOVE to see a complete recipe list!

 

Happy Healthy Mama
January 7, 2011

Beautiful. I'm a new reader and love your blog so I know I will love your cookbook, too. Congratulations.

 

Kori
January 7, 2011

Wow, beautiful photos! Sounds like it will be a great book!

 

Kelly Irene
January 7, 2011

Thank you for sharing here, and Congratulations! I'm looking forward to having a copy in hand, but certainly not as much as I imagine you are.
Your recipes have inspired many wonderful meals in my home, and I'm looking forward to even more.

 

The pictures look gorgeous. Can't wait to check out the cookbook.

 

Lee
January 7, 2011

YAAAAY...
I already have my copy pre-ordered..I have spent so many wonderful hours cooking and enjoying the recipes from your last book and this one looks just as marvelous..
thank you for the preview

 

Looks amazing already Heidi, bravo! I can't wait to get it in the mail :)

xo

 

Yvonne
January 7, 2011

Hi Heidi,

Congrats on your new book. The photos and layout look stunning. It's so inspiring. Looking forward to checking out the recipes. Hope you are doing well.

Yvonne from NYC

 

Lori
January 7, 2011

Congratulations! Can't wait for the book. And... try as I might to see potatoes, I see only ham.

 

Patrick
January 7, 2011

Hi Heidi,

Looks wonderful. Serious question, which site do you recommend we pre-order from? I know the different sites might put different amounts of cash in your pocket. I want to use the one that helps you the most.

 

the boot
January 7, 2011

heidi, i read your blog all the time but this is my first time commenting. i cannot wait to get a copy of your book this spring! congratulations and best of luck!
marissa

 

Ah, so beautiful. You are so blessed to be able to combine your talents and skills to create something like this. The photography is just gorgeous.

 

Jennie
January 7, 2011

Such a wonderful piece of work—getting to read the proof is one of the more fun perks of my job as a food editor. You've put together an amazing collection of vegetarian and whole grain recipes that not only are delectable, but it's packaged in a very non-preachy way (and I would be like preaching to the choir anyway). I've been baking soda bread variations everyday since I finished reading the book.

 

Britt
January 7, 2011

It's beautiful! Congratulations on a job well done!

 

sweet road
January 7, 2011

It looks really great, your cooking and recipes always makes me feel like I'm back in California where everything comes from so near!

 

Lynna
January 7, 2011

The new cover is beautiful, Heidi. You have the best dishware.

 

Jacky
January 7, 2011

Your book looks beautiful! I can't wait to get my hands on a copy myself.

 

Hungry Sofia
January 7, 2011

Can't wait. It looks beautiful! Love knowing that it was shot in actual time.

 

maria
January 7, 2011

I've put myself on a cookbook diet for 2011 BUT your new book is my "spring splurge"!

Can't wait to see what culinary delights you've created!

 

Heather (Heather's Dish)
January 7, 2011

first of all congratulations! this is such a huge success for you...and you should be so proud! second, it's stunning and i can't wait to own it :)

 

Danielle
January 7, 2011

Congratulations! It looks fantastic. Just from the images you provided, it left me wanting more!

 

Adam
January 7, 2011

Oh Heidi, I can't wait for this book! Congrats on such a beautiful payoff for all your hard work.

HS: Adam, let's make sure we cross paths this year. It has been tooo long. Come to CA!

 

olga
January 7, 2011

Heidi, looks amazing - can't wait to get my hands on the book!

 

windycityvegan
January 7, 2011

I can't wait for this to come out! Of the recipes I tested for you, there are two in particular that I have made again, and again, and again - now I can direct people to the preview site. Thank you for letting me be a part of the process. I cannot wait to hold a copy of SNE in my hands and cook my way through the entire book.

HS: Hi Monika! Great to hear from you. Which ones? I promise to pop a copy in the mail to you the minute I get them in. Thanks again for your insight.

 

Luisa
January 7, 2011

Yay!! What a fun update. Love the little sneak peaks. xoxo

HS: Thanks Luisa! Can't wait to see what you're up to as well :) Big hugs, -h

 

Happy When Not Hungry
January 7, 2011

Wow it looks amazing! I cannot wait for this to come out. The photos look just stunning. Can't wait!

 

Jenn
January 7, 2011

I am so excited for the new cookbook. Love the idea of it centered around a meal time, and having it representing Northern California - that makes me miss the area, having spent most of my life there as well - the produce (prices) is just not the same in San Diego.

 

nancy
January 7, 2011

Gorgeous! So cool that you wrote and photographed in real time. Looking forward to getting a copy when it's released :)

 

Maggie at Eat Boutique
January 7, 2011

LOVE it. I can't wait to hold it too. :)

 

Karen Tanboor
January 7, 2011

I am super excited about your new book. We have gone semi-veg in our house and I pull from your other books and the blog all the time.

Please tell me you will be releasing the book at some point in a digital format. I am living in Amman Jordan right now and hauling books all over the world is just not a reality with luggage restrictions. Please please please, Karen Tanboor

HS:Hi Karen, I suspect we'll eventually do digital versions, but we want to make sure we're able to maintain the aesthetic and design sensibility. But yes, we're talking about it.

 

Seduction Meals
January 7, 2011

Looks Stunning. I have always been a fan of your food and photography. This will definitely join my cookbook library. Congratulations!

 

laura @ alittlebarefoot
January 7, 2011

i can't wait for the new book! it looks gorgeous and your recipes have just been getting better and better. i'm sure it will be fantastic.

 

Kyra
January 7, 2011

Heidi, the book looks beautiful! Congratulations. You must be so excited!!!

 

Rosemary Rideout
January 7, 2011

I've had this pre-ordered for a while now, can't wait to have it in my hands. Do you include a sources reference in this book?

HS: Hi Rosemary, yes, I listed some of my favorite sources. But most of the ingredients in the recipes are readily available.

 

Marie
January 7, 2011

looks beautiful! are these new recipes? or the same ones found on your website?

New!

 

RisaG
January 7, 2011

Heidi, the book looks wonderful. Such beautiful food shots. I can't wait to get my hands on a copy. The food look so healthy and delicious.

Thanks for the update. We can feel how happy U R and how enthusiastic U R about your new book.

The pictures are incredible. Makes U want to eat it all right now. Very effective.

Thanks again for the update. I appreciate it.

 

Alice
January 7, 2011

But Wait! I haven't made every recipe out of SNC! Oh well...just have to keep cooking...thanks for so much inspiration & great recipes.So looking forward to your new beautiful book.

 

amy
January 7, 2011

This book looks absolutely beautiful. I have just pre-ordered from Amazon. Can't wait. Congratulations, Heidi!

 

Kathryn
January 7, 2011

Thanks for all of your dedication and inspiration! Can't wait!!!

 

namita
January 7, 2011

I love your approach to the book, and i think that itself would make the book such a delight. Often, in the process of getting it right and prim perfect, there is loss of substance. and i am sure your book will stand out for that reason. I love it already even though I havent read a word of it and m likely to find only half the ingredients in India.

 

Barry
January 7, 2011

A feast for the eyes! I have the book on pre-order and really look forward to it. I like how you have organized it... not to mention the beautiful photos... thanks for the peek/update. Best to you and Wayne... I love the support you give each other.

 

Karen
January 7, 2011

I know exactly what that feels like! Your baby is gorgeous and I know you put your heart and soul into it!

 

Kitchen M
January 7, 2011

It's looking amazing! I'm shocked how you can keep it so affordable for such a good quality cookbook. I can't wait to see it in my hands!!

 

Megan Gordon
January 7, 2011

Heidi. Congratulations! I"m so excited to check it out. I really love what you said about the book feeling like it comes from a place...this is always really important to me in my own photography/writing---telling a story from the place where I sit/stand/live. I'm sure it's been months (years?) of hard work, and it looks absolutely stunning.

 

Melinda Johns
January 7, 2011

I told my kids that all I want for my birthday is your next cookbook! My 17 year old son has mastered your 5 minute pasta sauce and now he makes dinner too! Thanks for all the inspiration, beautiful photos and all the heart that goes in to your art and food.

HS: Bravo for teenage cooks!

 

Barbara
January 7, 2011

Perfection. I am so sure this will be voted one of the best cookbooks of 2011. Congratulations.

 

Liana @ femme fraiche
January 7, 2011

The book looks like it's going to be beautiful! I'm sure you'll let us know right away how we can order it once it's available!

 

Kasey
January 7, 2011

Congrats, Heidi!! I cannot wait to dive into your new recipes. Super Natural Cooking is looking pretty worn and used on my bookshelf :)

 

Kim Murray
January 7, 2011

I pre-ordered my copy on Amazon. Can't wait!

 

Lisa
January 7, 2011

Heidi: Gorgeous new book. Congratulations! I hope you'll consider adding San Diego to your book tour and let us host you at our downtown kitchen design studio!

HS: Lisa, we've been talking about it for years! Would love to make it happen at some point. Love Arclinea.

 

Rochel
January 7, 2011

It looks absolutely beautiful. I've come to expect the best from your cooking, your photography, and your writing and you never let me down. I can't wait to get my hands on a copy of the book. Congrats!

 

Bob Blesse
January 7, 2011

Heidi, I'm a book design and from that perspective this book really rocks! I love your wonderful photos of the food and Nor Cal (I'm a native) interspersed with the recipes. The cover is wonderful! I'm looking forward to this new book which is beautiful to look at and filled with your wonderful, healthy recipes.

 

Al
January 7, 2011

Thank you so much for this stunning book, Heidi! I can't wait!

 

Tasha
January 7, 2011

Wow. The cookbook looks gorgeous! I didn't even know you already had cookbooks because I'm always distracted by the recipes you post : ) I hope they have them at my local library!

 

Lindsey
January 7, 2011

Just pre-ordered your book for my husband's birthday. To be honest it's a gift for both of us! I can't wait to get it on April 5!!!

 

Marci
January 7, 2011

I can't wait! I preordered my copy what seems like months ago and can't wait for it to be here. You're an insipiration Heidi!

 

Michelle
January 7, 2011

Hi there. I am a total fan, and have moved my family from a regular, meat-eating diet to a vegetarian-leaning diet. Most of the thanks goes to you and your delicious recipes. I have Super Natural Cooking and love it, but I would like to make a request for the next book which I will surely buy--can you please, please have someone do a better index of recipes? I have a CSA, and almost every week I have something that I want to find a good recipe for. I go to your index, and unless I know the exact name for the recipe, I can't easily find a cauliflower recipe, for example. I would use your book so much more if I could use the index by INGREDIENT, not just recipe name. Hope you will take this into consideration!! Thanks.

HS: Ahh! Gotcha - let me look into it.

 

Kimberly
January 7, 2011

I'm new to your blog but I really love it! Your pictures and recipes are gorgeous! I too am a Nor Cal girl. Born, raised and still live here. I used to live in SF and have to go back every so often 'cause I miss it so! Congrats on the cookbook!

 

Christine
January 7, 2011

It looks so beautiful. I can't wait to read it!

 

Silvia
January 7, 2011

This book looks beautiful. Just got Super Natural Cooking from a bookstore here in Dubai. Its great. Thanks!

 

Laur
January 7, 2011

Thank you for inspiring me to not only to cook and eat healthier, but also to experiment with recipes as well as enjoy the presentation of my families meals! Not only do I thoroughly enjoy the recipes, but your photography of food is beautiful. Can't wait for the new book -- I pre-ordered months ago!

 

Ginger G
January 7, 2011

... what a coincidence! Just received - this morning - a notice from the library that my hold for your book is in and then I open this and see about your new book. Can't wait to pick it up,

 

ShortSkirts
January 7, 2011

So Excited for this book, cannot wait. I have your first book and its amazing. Everything I've made out of it has been delicious

 

Jacqui
January 7, 2011

How exciting! I just received your Super Natural cookbook as a Christmas gift and I love it! I can only imagine how great this one will be too!

 

Adriane
January 7, 2011

I love how your new book is coming together and am so excited to get it this spring! Also happy to see the muesli made it into this book; I am munching on some now (with homemade yogurt, of course) and just love it.

 

k
January 7, 2011

thanks for the update - i am really looking forward to the new book. i only got SNC last year but have been using it a lot (as someone who has many cookbooks, but doesn't actually use most of them all that much). as an aside to that - i made the beluga lentil crostini on new years and they were a hit!

 

sb
January 7, 2011

Super, duper excited about your new book! Congratulations Heidi! I just wanted to mention that folks can also pre-order copies through independent bookstores by going to: http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781580082778
(The link is included on your preview site, but not here) Thanks! We booksellers LOVE recommending your books!

 

Jann
January 7, 2011

Would you have a recommendation of a book(s) to get ideas for a vegetarian wedding reception menu?
Thank you.

 

Heidi - the book looks absolutely beautiful and I can truly appreciate how much work has gone into it. Gorgeous photos as always and nice layout. I've always been a big fan of your food photography - the focus on the food, with gorgeous tableware, vintage pieces, rustic woods. Knowing the book was created and evolved in a real time flow reminds me of the phrase "a moving meditation."
And yes, I am among those that thought the first cover showed pieces of ham, LOL. It's a pretty cover though! Love the yellows and blues in the new one. Best wishes on the success of it!

 

Marina
January 7, 2011

OMG OMG! I'm so excited! Thank you for posting the preview. I love your second book and can't wait for the third!

 

suncatcher
January 7, 2011

Hi Heidi,
Thanks for the update. I want to thank you for inspiring me to cook healthier and livelier. To learn about ingredients that are foreign to my midwestern palate has been so inspiring and exciting. I feel like you are my own personal teacher. I don't travel much, so your website is taking me on the food tours that I dream about. That would be nice to see a recipe list of what we can look forward to. Congrats and your baby is beautiful!

Thanks for this.

 

Marlen
January 7, 2011

Congratulations, Heidi! Thank you for sharing this preview. Georgeous photography and delicious recipes. And I love California, but won't be able to travel there again before Sept/Oct. Any chance for a book signing tour in Europe? (I live in Zurich/Switzerland...) Meeting the author and receiving a personally signed copy would mean the world :-)

HS: I'm always looking for an excuse to travel :)

 

Linda Sheehan
January 7, 2011

Good luck with the new cookbook. Loved the pictures displayed. I must get out your first cookbook & plan some new and more healthful recipes. Love your newsletter; it's like getting a mesg. from a friend (that I don't really know). Linda

 

Amanda
January 7, 2011

Heidi...congratulations! The book looks beautiful. Going to pre-order right now. Yeah for Northern California cooking, and yeah for the new cover--I also thought the potatoes looked like ham chunks. Good catch. :)

 

Christina
January 7, 2011

I love the new cover so much! Such a beautiful dish!

 

Sarah
January 7, 2011

Congrats, Heidi! I cannot wait to have this in my hot little hands!

 

Melanie
January 7, 2011

Just pre-ordered a copy of your new book. It looks great! I'm excited about the April delivery. I'll probably end up buying a few for gifts.

 

Tess
January 7, 2011

I can hardly wait!

 

alyson
January 7, 2011

oh Heidi, it looks amazing!!! off to pre-order mine!

 

sally
January 7, 2011

Love the preview! I can't wait till the book comes out!

 

Tera Brockway
January 7, 2011

Heidi, your first book is beautifully done, I tell everyone I know about it and I share your blog. I wrote you last year about my town being a dump when it comes to good food and you responded right away, that alone speaks volumes. I can't wait for the next one! And not only as a foodie but a photographer; I love the shots in your books, the new ones look fantastic too. Congratulations and don't agonize, we all love you, no words at all would be welcome from any of us IM sure!

HS: I remember your letter Tera! Hope things have improved on the food front in your town. Happy New Year. -h

 

Che
January 7, 2011

Wow!!! That looks fantastic. Please, please post the recipe list.

 

Azzahar
January 7, 2011

I want your book just for the photos. I'm sure the recipes are great and I will be using them, but just to ogle it everyday... yes.

 

Carla
January 7, 2011

How beautiful! Congratulations!

 

Angela Barbosa
January 7, 2011

Simply the most gorgeous cookbook I've ever seen! Bravo!!!

 

halemary
January 7, 2011

This is very exciting and can't wait. This is way I can visit (dream) of living in Northern California. Went there 60 years ago and went home (NYC) to collect my stuff -- but life interfered and didn't go back. Would love to wander around the Bay area again looking for Mexican beans. Thanks and good luck -- this will be a winner. Anxious for the previews of breakfast chapter.

 

Heidi G
January 7, 2011

Woo hoo. As someone who has just started cooking in the last year or so, and doesn't own hardly any cookbooks, since I found your website and then purchased your last cookbook I've been jokingly calling you my "patron saint of cooking". :) Mostly because you explain things well, lead the reader through a new recipe step by step, and I know whatever I make of yours will turn out and be both yummy and healthy. Thanks.

 

Akila
January 7, 2011

Heidi, Beautiful, beautiful! I can't wait to see it in print. I also would love to see the recipe list. :)

 

amita
January 7, 2011

My family is looking forward to your new book. We LOVE your first book. Yeah!

 

Stephanie
January 7, 2011

Gorgeous! I can't wait!

The new cover is beautiful. Really glad to see the cover shots that weren't picked showing up inside the book. Congrats... it's almost here!

 

mlleCapucine
January 7, 2011

Beautiful. You are such a talented photographer ! And Northern California is a wonderful place. Cant wait to see the book and cook from it!

 

Mario
January 7, 2011

Heidi, you do gorgeous work. Scrumptious food, sumptuous food. We are great fans here at O.

HS: Likewise Mario. Wayne actually made an amazing olive oil ice cream last night with your blood orange olive oil, drizzled with a bit more oil & flaky sea salt. Delicious.

 

Rita C
January 7, 2011

Fantastic pictures. One day I'll visit northern california but for the moment the recipes and pictures will have to suffice. Like many of your others Im sure they will become "regulars".Cant wait, pre-ordered as soon as I could. Congratulations.

 

Eve
January 7, 2011

Of course I love your food, but now the number one reason I want your new book is that it is so imbued with the sense of what it's like to live and eat where we do (not just NorCal, but even closer to home: I live about 4 blocks from you). It will be a keepsake that captures a wonderful time and place. Thanks for creating such a beautiful depiction of our incredibly rich and special environment.

 

Mairi @ Toast
January 7, 2011

It look beautiful, and I love that you cook & shoot.

 

The Healthy Apple
January 7, 2011

Heidi, this is so exciting....you are a true inspiration...Keep up the great work and Happy New Year! xox

 

ElizabethQ
January 7, 2011

Love the preview ! I can hardly wait. I have been a big fan of your posts. I am so honored I can even post a comment here. Congratulations! I look forward to getting a copy of the new cookbook, which I am certain will be 101% awesome!

 

AdriBarr
January 7, 2011

Che bellezza! Brava! Best wishes for tremendous success!

 

As one cookbook author to another, I am truly happy for you, and the spreads are so beautiful! Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

 

Souris
January 7, 2011

WOW, WOW, WOW! So excited for you, Heidi. It's been so fun watching you realize your dreams over the years. I know how hard you work and well, look at the beautiful stuff you put out for us. Even though it's the third time around, I can hardly wait! BIG UPS por vida! xox

 

alice
January 7, 2011

Preordered!!! I'm so excited! Congrats on what looks to be a very beautiful book!

 

Kendra
January 7, 2011

Heidi, your book looks so great! I'm so excited for it to finally be published :) Thanks for all the effort and amazing recipes!

 

Anonymous
January 7, 2011

Congratulations! Such wonderful news Heidi.
It looks AMAZING.
Can't wait to see it in person! xo

 

Rachel (Olalliberry)
January 7, 2011

Wow, this looks beautiful and inspiring. Can't wait to see the finished product!

 

Vanessa
January 7, 2011

Can't wait to see the finished book!! Looks great so far!!

 

Angela
January 7, 2011

I'm so excited to buy your cookbook! What an inspiring journey. I loved reading your previous posts on the process of writing the book too. Congrats on all your hard work. It looks fabulous!

 

amanda@seegirlcook
January 7, 2011

how exciting! loving the look, can't wait for it to be finished!:)

 

Lisa@ButteryBooks
January 7, 2011

Your cookbook looks amazing! Love the pictures.

 

Delishhh
January 7, 2011

Congratulations! Very Exciting! The previews are amazing!

 

DebG
January 8, 2011

Heidi - the book looks stunning. Beautiful photography, stylish and elegant, and recipes which leave me hungry for the real thing. I am so looking forward to publication. Happy new year!

 

sj
January 8, 2011

in a word. stunning. Looks inspired like your blog. Looking forward to adding it to my collection, then getting it sticky cooking out of it all the time.

 

Joyce Pinson
January 8, 2011

When I first found your site, I laughed and laughed. My husband's eyes cross every time I buy a new cookbook, or score old ones at yard sales. I could point to you "101 Cookbooks" and have validation there was nothing wrong with me! Giggles Best wishes on your upcoming book!

 

molly
January 8, 2011

Oh, Heidi, it is simply breathtaking.

I cannot wait to get my hands on a real, paper copy. And those yogurt biscuits. And egg salad toasts. And and and...

Ten Speed, hurry up!!

 

carol
January 8, 2011

YAY!!! can't wait to have your new cook~art~inspirational book join my familie of favorite & dog-eared loved cookbooks on the ladder leaning against the wall (where Super Natural Cooking has happily resided for a few years now)... as a native northern californian (sacramento) now living in the netherlands 9 years, i can honestly express my heartfelt gratitude to you for bringing a huge part of 'home' to me here and feeding my pride as a northern californian, as well as making me & all my loved ones here very happy with your recipes! what i absolutely love about clicking onto your blog to read what you're up to that day & see the tantalizing photos you've taken, is feeling the passion with which you live your life. you do what you love & it shows. i'm so grateful you share it all with me (us) !! Thanks and so looking forward to amazon's delivery of your cookbook in the Spring. Success! ;-)

 

Helen
January 8, 2011

I just wanted you to know how wonderful it has been to reap the benefits of your talents. I cannot tell you how many of your recipes I have tried and every time I'm blown backwards by how good it is. Just so you'll know this is how it goes: My husband and I had friends over for dinner. He made a mediterranean style dinner so I made a pot of your Red Lentil Soup to start. Afterward, I kid you not, each guest either texted or e-mailed me for the recipe. So everytime I make one of your recipes for anyone else you have new followers! You are very good at what you do. Looking forward to your new book and Congrats!

 

A Teenage Gourmet
January 8, 2011

I can't wait to find your book in stores! Those potatoes do look like chunks of ham though!

 

katie
January 8, 2011

I appreciate the fact that you shot this book in real time. It's a rare cookbook writer who has the photography skills to pull this off. I look forward to seeing your finished work. Thanks for sharing.

 

Jayne
January 8, 2011

Congratuatlions on the new cookbook! The photos are magnificent - Bet the recipes are just as great.

Jayne

 

Andrea
January 8, 2011

Just ordered it. Loved the New Year Noodle Soup, by the way.

 

Sheila
January 8, 2011

Heidi, Thanks for sharing your creative process; it's truly inspiring.

 


Heidi~

I'm sooooo EXCITED to see your new cookbook!

Woohoo!

You've inspired me to write a blog...
www.bakedinmaine.com

ROCK on Sista!

Lisa
xo

 

PS. I LOVE the shot on the cover!!!

 

l. anthony Klein
January 8, 2011

Heidi,
You are Super-Woman 2 Me, Beautiful, Talented, Integrated in Knowing, Perceiving. and Manifesting; It shows in everything U do and I love your food, your life, your 'tude!
I cannot wait to get the new book!
Blessings 2 U!
~anthony

 

Beverlyjane
January 8, 2011

Looking forward to your new book Heidi. Your natural food dishes are so beautiful as is your beloved Northwest area which I have only had the pleasure of traveling twice that I hope you will use those for your cover. I know it will be an enormous success.

 

karen
January 8, 2011

Oh my goodness - I can't wait! But then again, I have a hard time waiting for your posts each week :) I'm always struck by the ways your food, philosophy and photography all intersect perfectly. Thanks for doing what you do and thanks for such a lovely preview.

 

Anna
January 8, 2011

Hi Heidi!
It looks great! I am so excited for you! (And me!)
Will you keep us updated on where you will be in the Bay Area for book signings? I would love to get an autographed copy! Thanks!

 

Rachel
January 8, 2011

hi heidi!

just wanted to share with you - while searching for your cookbooks on my local library's online catalogue, i discovered that SNE already has 43 people in the hold line. i am number 44!

 

Haliana
January 8, 2011

I love you... You're my inspiration. Gonna love you forever! ;P

 

Inge
January 9, 2011

I'm so happy to read the recipes will be written in grams as well! I love SNC, but since I have to convert every recipe, I'm cooking more from notes with grams scribbled on than from the actual cookbook, which is a shame, because it's beautiful. So thank you!

 

Laura
January 9, 2011

Congrats to you! I love that you (mostly) photographed/wrote in realtime. Can't wait to see the final product!

 

Rebecca
January 9, 2011

Congrats! Can't wait to see the final product. Make sure you stop in Paris on your book tour, d'accord ? :)

ps Home with the flu now in New Jersey and going through (almost!) all of your soup recipes to nurse myself back to health, merci beaucoup, Dr. Heidi!

 

shakti
January 9, 2011

Heidi congratulations - i look forward to your new book hitting australian shores - i have super natural cooking and LOVE iT -
i simply adore that you shoot the food as it is prepared - thankyou for your gifts of healthy nutrition and good food to the planet - many blessings -
xxx

 

Thelma VanOordt
January 10, 2011

Dear Heidi, I'm a graphic designer and a real follower of your recipes. I live in Amsterdam/The Netherlands and I love what you do and I love your newsletters. Of course I already pre-ordered your next cookbook. Sometimes I have problems with the 'cups' in the recipes, it took me a while to find out that an english cup is different from the american! I designed 2 cookmagazines in the Netherlands, and 1 cookbook. I love the photographs and lay out of the new book. I love food, prepare a dinner is Zen after a busy day. Eating it (especially with friends) is happiness. Thank for your site and newsletters. Thelma

 

Cassandra Potier Watkins
January 10, 2011

It looks beautiful!

that is funny what you say about it being form N California. I am a S Californian girl myself. I love your recipes, but I often find myself trying to freshen, brighten or lighten them up... must be something to do with the weather! That would be interesting to do a comparative cookbook on the regions.

 

susan
January 10, 2011

The book looks awesome. You can really see the care you put into bringing it together. Congratulations.

 

jim
January 10, 2011

your recipes are terrific and the book looks like it will be awesome. My wife has a food blog

http://orangemadeleines.blogspot.com

and I have taken some of the pictures for it. Your pictures inspire me even more! Keep up the great blogging....

 

baker_d
January 10, 2011

Heidi,
Been reading 101 forever. Many of your recipes (and my adaptations thereof) have become staple meals for me. Just wanted to say this looks amazing, congrats, and on behalf of your regular readers these past years-- thank you for nourishing us, and we're proud of you! Keep up the amazing work.

 

Jen @ keepitsimplefoods
January 10, 2011

Congrats on the new book! Can't wait to see the final version!

 

The Cilantropist
January 10, 2011

I can't wait for your book to come out! I am inspired and lifted just by looking at your photographs, and I think you did a great job of capturing norther california. I think I should pre-order now. :) And yes, please post a recipe list!

 

Anonymous
January 10, 2011

I love your recipes, photos (Wayne's, too) and I love your previous cookbook. This post did nothing but fuel the flames of my desire to posses SNE.

 

Georgia Pellegrini
January 10, 2011

Congratulations! Your book looks absolutely stunning (that does not even begin to cover it)! The quality of the photographs bring you into the earth making you feel closer to your ingredients and your craft.

 

kristin
January 10, 2011

I love the last minute cover change! The colors are refreshing and light. Can't wait to get the book....it looks amazing!

 

Jennifer (Delicieux)
January 11, 2011

I've been eagerly awaiting the release of your new book and the previews have only served to make me more hungry to get my hands on it. I can't wait! Beautiful work!

 

EratHora
January 11, 2011

I love the photography and can't wait to get the cookbook. I"m adding it to my "small changes that make a big difference" list for 2011. Thanks.

 

nike air max 90
January 12, 2011

I just clicked over from another site and figured I should take a look around. Like what I see so now I'm following you. Look forward to checking out your some of your posts again.

 

wendy
January 12, 2011

Congratulations Heidi. This book looks terrific and I will be happy to own it. I live in Canada and you have it on pre order through Amazon.com Any chance it could also be on preorder through Amazon.ca? That way I could order both books and get free shipping which I can't do if I order from the States. wendy

 

Annelies
January 12, 2011

I am so excited for your new cookbook to come out and truly love the layout pages you've shared here. Your first cookbook is a regular fixture on my counter and excited to see NorCal, where I call home also, infused in this latest release. After all the hard work in putting this together, congrats!

 

Katie
January 12, 2011

Heidi,
The preview spreads are gorgeous. I like the "Snacks" one of you in the field, especially. I try to keep my cook book purchases down to a few every year (it would be so easy for things to get out of hand!), but I may just have to put your new book on my list for this year.

 

WitteTemi
January 13, 2011

I just want to say Hi to Everyone!

 

Géraldine de Papillehot
January 14, 2011

Tes photos sont magnifiques...